News: The Architectural Review announces the shortlist for the 2019 AR Emerging Architecture awards

Celebrating its 29th year, the AR Emerging Architecture awards has provided a platform for budding architects and designers to showcase their amazing talents. This year, 16 architects have been shortlisted for the awards. 

The international group of emerging practices will be presenting their projects to three critically acclaimed judges: Anna Heringer of Anna Heringer Architecture, prize winner of the 2006 and 2008 AR Emerging Architecture awards; Irish London-based architect Niall McLaughlin of Niall McLaughlin Architects who was a finalist in 2002; and Sou Fujimoto, founding director of Sou Fujimoto Architects, previous winner in 2006 for a children’s treatment center in Hokkaido, Japan.

The judges will hold their review process at the World Architecture Festival in Amsterdam this December. Each candidate was asked to submit a small portfolio of three projects fulfilling three categories: a completed building, a work in progress, and an idea. 

Out of the selected shortlisted candidates, the winner will receive a £10,000 ($12,900) prize. Other shortlisted projects will be featured in a special edition of The Architectural Review. 

Below are this year's shortlisted practices:

  • Beals Lyon Arquitectos, Santiago, Chile
  • CAUCE Arquitectura del paisaje, Medellín, Colombia
  • Clancy Moore Architects, Dublin, Ireland
  • Comunal, Mexico City, Mexico

Read the full post on Bustler